Chaos theory in everyday life

I’m sure you’ve heard the phrase “chaos theory.” It’s the relatively ‘new’ branch of mathematics that deals with systems whose behavior is highly sensitive to the slightest changes in conditions. It’s the place where small alterations can generate dramatic consequences. Sometimes you may read or hear the phrase  “catastrophe theory” too; it’s a related branch of mathematics concerned with systems displaying abrupt discontinuous changes.

Chaos is a “science of surprises.”  It teaches us to expect the unexpected. While most traditional science deals with things like kinetic energy, work, gravity, electricity, or chemical reactions, chaos theory deals with things that are basically impossible to predict or control, like the weather, effects from storms, changes in the stock market, human responses, and so on. (Feeling nerdy? read more here)

My life the last six months–which seems, incidentally, much longer than six months-feels like it might fit this idea of “the unexpected.” After the shock of the unexpected diagnosis, some days brought new good things, and others….well, they added more challenge to the equation. I understand more now what it means to be in pain 24 hours a day, though thankfully only for a few weeks. I’ve learned how humbling it is to have to ask for help for just about anything….and how incredibly wonderful it is to regain the ability to do things myself. I’ve been changed permanently…even with all the supplements, good diet, etc, I can never be physically the “same” as I was before.  I suspect it will take a long time to detoxify and rebuild.

I’m also changed emotionally –I suspect all of us are subtly (or not so subtly) changed when “big” things happen. I’ve struggled with anxiety in the wee hours of the morning when I can’t sleep. I’ve had to miss things I really wanted to do, like the wedding of good friends, and feeling blue about it…… I keep a bag of all the cards I’ve received and I read them at random again when I need to be reminded I’m not alone on this. I’ve thanked my “Team Diane” before….and I’ll thank you all again, for there is no way anyone can do this alone. Cancer doesn’t affect just the one with the diagnosis.

You know, when you think about it, we’ve all had some form of chaos in our lives. It can take many different forms, but it changes our landscape, our views, our emotions, our actions….We might want to go back to the way things used to be, but we can’t. We can move forward and look for beauty in the new. And when the “what if’s” start to press in, when the idea that another “chaos” event could happen bears down, we can remember that we made it through this one. That we aren’t alone. That we can use our story to bless others in their journeys. We are not islands….we’re meant to fellowship with each other and support each other on the journey.

God is omnipotent, omniscient, and omnipresent. He is totally aware of any of the chaos of our days. And like Mr. Rogers said, when bad things happen, look for the helpers. God provides the helpers…sometimes in the most unexpected ways.

He is faithful. Have a blessed day!

Psalm 1115:15 May you be blessed by the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

4 thoughts on “Chaos theory in everyday life

  1. fromthewoodsofchelsea

    Sorry to say I got behind in my reading about your Journey while living my own:) Praise God I have learned the same lesson and am at peace with God in this journey….it took me a while to here.

    Like

Leave a comment